The Gold Glove Award winners don’t get the recognition of the home run hitters, but they are very much appreciated by managers, their teammates and by the fans, who know the value of defensive excellence. Great defense makes a difference in baseball. This year’s top glovemen in the National League are:

Steve Hoskins (New York Mets)

Jon Amend (Milwaukee Brewers)

First Baseman
Matt White (San Diego Padres)

Second Baseman
Jonathan Gates (Milwaukee Brewers)

Third Baseman
Bobby Sigman (Atlanta Braves)

Antonio Alvarez (Los Angeles Dodgers)

Left Fielder
Daniel Hunziker (San Diego Padres)

Center Fielder
Bruce Gentry (Philadelphia Phillies)

Right Fielder
Raul Campos (New York Mets)